Awards & Honours

York University celebrates five Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship recipients

Five York PhD students have been named Vanier Scholars, receiving $50,000 annually for up to three years to support their research. Vanier Scholars demonstrate leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in the social sciences and/or humanities, natural sciences and/or engineering and health. “Vanier recipients are not merely scholars – […]

Prestigious York-Massey Fellowship and Visiting Scholarships awarded to three York Professors

In June, 2017, York University’s Lily Cho was awarded a York-Massey Fellowship 2017-2018. Professors Karen Krasny and David McNally, also at York, were awarded York-Massey Visiting Scholarships 2017-2018. “We are very pleased that Lily Cho, David McNally and Karen Krasny were awarded these honours,” says Robert Haché, Vice-President Research & Innovation. “The York-Massey Fellowships and […]

Four York U faculty receive Early Researcher Awards

York University Professors Ian Garrett, Theodore Noseworthy, Sapna Sharma and Graham Wakefield have each received $140,000 in funds through the Ontario government’s Early Researcher Awards program. “York is delighted to have these four individuals receive the Early Researcher Award,” said Vice-President Research & Innovation Robert Haché. “The funding provided by Ontario’s Ministry of Research and […]

Sociology Professor Eric Mykhalovskiy awarded prestigious research excellence award

York University Sociology Professor Eric Mykhalovskiy has been awarded the 2017 Canadian Association for HIV Research-Canadian Foundation for AIDS Research (CAHR-CANFAR) Excellence in Research Award in the Social Sciences. The CAHR-CANFAR Excellence in Research Awards are intended to highlight and celebrate the contributions of Canadian researchers in HIV/AIDS research in Canada and internationally. The award […]

Research Impact Canada wins Directors’ Award from CARA

York University, on behalf of Research Impact Canada (formerly the ResearchImpact network), was awarded the Directors’ Award for Inter-Institutional Collaboration from the Canadian Association of Research Administrators (CARA), at the CARA national meeting in Winnipeg. The award was announced May 8. David Phipps David Phipps, executive director, Research & Innovation Services, accepted the award for […]